Deadline Friday for School, City Candidates PDF  ICON_SEP Print ICON_SEP  E-mail
Written by Nicole Schaefer   

Area school districts and Cities will be holding elections in May. If you want to get your name on the ballot, you better do so quickly because the filing period ends this Friday, February 17th at 5:00 p.m.
--School Districts (Board of Trustees) Open Positions
Fairfield (903-389-2532) – 2 positions at large: John Fryer and Kevin Benedict
-John Fryer has reapplied for his position.
Teague (254-739-1300) – 4 positions: #1 Jeff Gonzales, #3 Lovie Whyte, #6 Stan Waldrip, and #7 Mary Clary-Smith.
-Jason Hullum has applied for place #6; and Mary Clary-Smith has reapplied for place #7.
Wortham (254-765-3095) – 3 positions: #5 Todd Dunnahoe, #6 James Sessions, and #7 Jeff Jones.
-Michael Dunn has applied for place #5, Russell Black for place #6, and Jeff Jones has reapplied for place #7.
Dew – Dew ISD holds elections in November
--City Councilmen/Aldermen Open Positions
Fairfield (903-389-2633) – Places #3 (David Steward), #4 (Landis Bayless), & #5 (Kenny Hughes).
-David Steward and Landis Bayless have reapplied; and William (Bill) Brown has put in for Place #5.
Teague (254-739-2547) – Places #2 (Ron Rasbeary – Mayor Pro Tem), #4 (Chris Nickleberry), & #5 (Marilyn Michaud).
-Place #2, Ron Rasbeary has reapplied; and Jack Hansel has applied for Place #5.
Wortham (254-765-3319) – 3 positions at large: Cliff NeSmith, Mindy McGlone and Mayor Rodney Price.
-Mayor Rodney Price has reapplied for his positon.
Streetman – No election this year
If you would like to put your hat in the ring for any of these positions, contact your local school administration building or city hall for packet information and applications.