Author: admin

Musical Extravaganza at New Birth Christian

A Musical Extravaganza is being hosted by New Birth Christian Center on Saturday, September 24th at 5:00 p.m. They cordially invited everyone to attend and participate in the program, and come to bless the community with praise and songs. New Birth Christian Center is located at 1600 E. FM 489 in the Butler community. Please contact Deacon Kelvin Funches at 903-388-6244 or Sister Chris Gatson at 903-391-6638 for more information.  All proceeds will go toward the purchase of a Baptism pool. Host Pastor is Elder Daniel...

Read More

Texas Center for the Book Announces 2016 Letters About Literature Contest

The Texas Center for the Book, a project of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, invites young readers to enter the 2016 Letters About Literature Contest. Held in conjunction with the Library of Congress, the literary competition encourages students in grades 4-12 to write to an author (living or deceased) about how his or her book affected their lives. Winners at the state level will win $100 and a trip to the 2016 Texas Library Association Annual Conference in San Antonio and national winners will be eligible to win $1000 and a trip to the National Book Festival in Washington D.C. “The Letters About Literature contest makes a lasting literary connection between an author’s work and the lives of young readers” said Texas State Library and Archives Director and Librarian, Mark Smith. “The contest bridges a direct partnership between students, librarians, educators and parents and lays the foundation for a life-long love of reading.” Last year more than 50,000 young readers from across the country participated in the Letters About Literature initiative funded by a grant from the Library of Congress’ James Madison Council with additional support from the Library’s Center for the Book. Since 1997, more than a million students have participated. Established in 1987, the Texas Center for the Book seeks to stimulate public interest in books, reading, literacy and libraries. The Center builds partnerships with...

Read More

Doodle for Google is Back!

If it ain’t Baroque, don’t fix it: your favorite art contest is back! Today we’re kicking off the 2016 Doodle 4 Google contest, where art-loving K-12 students from across the U.S., Guam and Puerto Rico are invited to bring their imagination to life in a doodle of the Google logo, using any medium they choose. The winning masterpiece will hang on the Google homepage for a day, where millions will enjoy it. We like to think about what’s next. So we’re asking kids to imagine what awaits them in the years to come and represent that vision of this year’s theme: “What I see for the future…” Yes, that means anything they see — even if it includes flying dogs, living on a shooting star, the trip of their dreams, or for the true Futurists out there — perhaps a distant world filled with dazzling new technology of all shapes and sizes. This year’s contest is going to be one for the record books; the future and the ways to depict it are limitless. That’s why we’ll have an all-star group of judges including our very own Google Doodlers help select the National Winner. In addition to the homepage showcase, the winner will receive $30,000 towards a college scholarship, and the opportunity to work with the Doodle team at the Googleplex in Mountain View. As an added bonus: Their...

Read More

Home Country

It takes a special person to be a good teacher in a rural school. Unlike the great city amalgamated and homogenized institutes of lower learning, the rural schools tend not to have teachers who are putting in time until their heart stops. And it’s a mixed blessing, because rural schools sometimes have to hire someone whose only qualification is a pulse. But there are those rural teachers who go down in legend for their creativity. Like John Lewis. After his first semester teaching at the high school, John discovered that some of the boys in class … usually the misbehavers, would raise their hands and ask to go to the john in the middle of a class session. He suspected, when they returned smelling like tobacco, that bodily functions weren’t the prime incentive for the trip. So he got a stick and made a big cardboard sign and stuck it in the closet behind his desk. Then, the very next time someone indicated a peristaltic urgency, he stood and smiled and addressed the class. “Everybody up!” he said, smiling. The class stood, looking dumbfounded at each other. “Since going to the restroom in the middle of class is a God-given American right, I believe it’s only fair that we all share a small part of it. So Pete, since you have asked to go, you get to lead the...

Read More

Celebrating Fall Season Sept. 23-25: Fairfield Market Days

It’s Fall, Ya’ll at Fairfield Market Days this weekend! Come for Indoor and Outdoor shopping at Fairfield Market Days, held at the historic W.L. Moody Reunion Grounds in Fairfield, Texas. Each month, Market Days vendors offer such things as Arts & Crafts, Jewelry, Bling, Clothing, Food, Furniture, Antiques, Fresh Produce, Tools, Toys and more. Market Days will open Friday, September 23rd with limited vendors from 12 noon to 6:00 p.m.  All vendors will be open for business on Saturday, September 24th from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and on Sunday, September 25th from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Admission is free of charge. Vendor inquires for Market Days are always welcome.  Call 903-388-9845, 903-389-2633, or send an email to RV hookups are available. All vendors are expected to stay until closing. Mark your calendars for Fairfield Market Days in 2016.  Upcoming dates are October 21-23, November 18-20 and December 16-18.  See you at Market...

Read More

Download The Official Go Fairfield App

itunes button

google play button

Pin It on Pinterest